McNair, George, Mason and Mawae Among 2017 HOF Nominees


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Former Titans greats Steve McNair, Eddie George, Derrick Mason, Kevin Mawae and Gary Anderson are among the 94 modern-era nominees announced for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2017 class.

Titans Online looks back at the career of franchise-leading rusher Eddie George. (Photos: Donn Jones, AP, Getty)

The list of nominees consists of 45 offensive players, 32 defensive players, six special teams players and 11 coaches. The modern-era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual selection meeting on the eve of Super Bowl LI. The finalists will consist of 15 modern-era finalists, the recently named Senior Finalist, Kenny Easley, and the 2017 Contributor Finalists, Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue.

The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, February 4, 2017 in Houston, Texas to elect the Class of 2017.

McNair, George, Mawae and Anderson were all nominated a year ago.

Mawae, an offensive lineman who played 16 NFL seasons (1994-2009), including four seasons with the Titans (2006-09), made the list of 25 semifinalists last season.

A first-round pick (3rd overall) by the Houston Oilers in the 1995 NFL Draft, Steve McNair led the Titans to the playoffs four times, including an appearance in Super Bowl XXXIV, while passing for 27,141 yards and 156 TDs in 11 seasons with the franchise. (Photos: Donn Jones, AP, Mike Mu)

McNair, a 1995 draft pick by Houston Oilers, quarterbacked the Titans to the Super Bowl during the 1999 season, and was named co-MVP of the NFL in 2003. He threw for over 31,304 yards in his career, which included two seasons with the Ravens after 11 seasons in Tennessee.

George was drafted a year later, and the running back rushed for 10,009 yards with the Oilers/Titans from 1996-2003.

Mason played from 1997-2004 with the Titans before finishing his career with the Ravens. He caught 943 passes for 12,061 receiving yards and 66 touchdowns in his career.

Anderson played 23 NFL seasons, including the 2003-04 seasons with the Titans.


Finalist in 2016; Underline indicates first year of eligibility (Players and coaches must have last played coached at least five full seasons to be eligible for nomination. Therefore, any individual who last played or coached in 2011 are eligible for the first time in 2017).


Titans Online looks back at the career of Derrick Mason, arguably the greatest wide receiver in Titans history. (Donn Jones Photography, AP)


Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Phil Simms, *Kurt Warner

Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, *Terrell Davis, Eddie George, *Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), LaDainian Tomlinson, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters

Isaac Bruce, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason (also KR/PR), *Terrell Owens, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Hines Ward

Mark Bavaro

Tony Boselli (T), Ray Donaldson (C), *Alan Faneca (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), *Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Jim Lachey (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

Leslie O'Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT), Jason Taylor (DE), Bryant Young (DT)

Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, Seth Joyner, Levon Kirkland, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Joey Porter, Zach Thomas


Titans Online looks back at the Titans career of Hall of Fame center Kevin Mawae, who played in Tennessee from 2006-09. (Photos)

Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Brian Dawkins (SS), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), *John Lynch (S), Frank Minnifield (CB), Bob Sanders (SS), Darren Sharper (FS), Dennis Smith (SS), Troy Vincent (S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

*Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)

*Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Related Content