Titans RB Derrick Henry Selected as AFC Offensive Player of the Year from 101 Awards


NASHVILLE – Titans running back Derrick Henry has been selected as 2020 AFC Offensive Player of the Year for the 51st annual NFL 101 awards.

The award winners are determined in a balloting of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL. The Committee of 101 has presented the 101 Awards honor to players and coaches each season since the AFL-NFL merger in 1969, making it the nation's oldest awards event dedicated exclusively to professional football.

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers has been named NFC Offensive Player of the Year.

Earlier this offseason, Henry was named the 2020 NFL Offensive Player of the Year by the Professional Football Writers of America. Henry became the first Titan to win the award, which was first presented in 1992.

Henry, also named first-team All-Pro by the Associated Press earlier this month, led the NFL and set a franchise record with 2,027 rushing yards in 2020, becoming the eighth player in league annals to rush for at least 2,000 yards in a season.

His 2,027 rushing yards gave him the fifth-highest total in NFL history behind Eric Dickerson's 2,105 (1984), Adrian Peterson's 2,097 (2012), Jamal Lewis' 2,066 (2003) and Barry Sanders' 2,053 (1997). Henry broke Chris Johnson's franchise mark of 2,006 rushing yards in 2009.

Henry also became the first player since LaDainian Tomlinson (2006-07) to lead the NFL in rushing yards in consecutive seasons. Henry previously led the league in 2019 with 1,540 rushing yards.

Related Content