Skip to main content

Titans RB Derrick Henry Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


NASHVILLE – Titans running back Derrick Henry is the team's nominee for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the eighth annual award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

Earlier this week, Henry was named as the team's nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote later this month.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Henry, who is currently on Injured Reserve, was voted a team captain for 2021 by his teammates.

In 2020, Henry was named the Associated Press NFL Offensive Player of the Year after rushing 378 times for 2,027 yards and 17 touchdowns. Henry became just the eighth player in NFL history to hit the 2,000-yard mark in 2020, and he was honored with his second consecutive Pro Bowl, named first-team Associated Press All-Pro, and won the FedEx Ground Player of the Year Award for the second consecutive year.

In 2019, Henry led the NFL with 1,540 yards and 16 rushing touchdowns en route to being named a Pro Bowler and second-team All-Pro.

Recent recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award:

2020: Teddy Bridgewater
2019: RB Adrian Peterson
2018: QB Drew Brees
2017: LB Luke Kuechly
2016: RB Frank Gore
2015: CB Charles Woodson
2014: WR Larry Fitzgerald

Related Content

Fan Zone

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Stay up to date with team and stadium news, concert and event announcements, stream live Titans games and more!

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

A one-stop shop for Titans memorabilia, autographed items and more!

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Get Titans news sent straight to your inbox.