Skip to main content

Titans RB Derrick Henry Named 'Tennessean of the Year' by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame


NASHVILLE – Derrick Henry has been crowned by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.

The same goes for the Tennessee Titans.

On Thursday, Henry was named the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame's 'Tennessean of the Year' after the Titans running back led the NFL in rushing while eclipsing the 2,000-yard mark.

The Titans, meanwhile, have been named the Professional Team of the Year in the state of Tennessee after winning the AFC South for the first time since 2008.

Henry, named the 2020 NFL Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-Pro by the Associated Press earlier this offseason, led the NFL and set a franchise record with 2,027 rushing yards in 2020, becoming the eighth player in league annals to rush for at least 2,000 yards in a season.

His 2,027 rushing yards gave him the fifth-highest total in NFL history behind Eric Dickerson's 2,105 (1984), Adrian Peterson's 2,097 (2012), Jamal Lewis' 2,066 (2003) and Barry Sanders' 2,053 (1997). Henry broke Chris Johnson's franchise mark of 2,006 rushing yards in 2009.

Henry also became the first player since LaDainian Tomlinson (2006-07) to lead the NFL in rushing yards in consecutive seasons. Henry previously led the league in 2019 with 1,540 rushing yards.

The Titans earned the 'Professional Team of the Year' award after winning 11 games and claiming their first division championship in 12 years. In 2020, the Titans reached the NFL postseason for the second consecutive season and for the third time in four years.

The Titans are one of just three teams (Seattle, Kansas City) with five consecutive winning seasons.

In addition to the Titans and Henry, The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame announced Belmont Women's Basketball, Alysha Clark, Joan Cronan, Anastasia Hayes, Memphis Men's Basketball, Ja Morant, Jerry Robertson, the Tennessee Six and Brady White as other honorees for its Achievement Awards.

The TSHOF announced its 11-member 2020 Induction Class, which includes Voice of the Titans Mike Keith, U.S. Soccer President Cindy Parlow Cone, Tennessee baseball star Todd Helton, former MTSU defensive standout Mike Caldwell, ETSU Basketball great Tommy Woods, Memphis women's basketball coaching legend Mary Lou Johns, Tennessee football legend Bill Bates, Vanderbilt women's basketball trailblazer Cathy Bender, Tennessee basketball star Reggie Johnson, and wheelchair basketball champion and Jackson native Brandon Rowland and U.S. Hockey Hall of Famer and General Manager of the NHL's Predators, David Poile.

The honors will be formally presented as part of a statewide television special the weekend of June 26.

Related Content

Fan Zone

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Stay up to date with team and stadium news, concert and event announcements, stream live Titans games and more!

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

A one-stop shop for Titans memorabilia, autographed items and more!

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Get Titans news sent straight to your inbox.