Season Rewind: Justin Hunter Shows Big-Play Potential

Justin Hunter showed in his rookie season of 2013 the big-play potential the Titans envisioned when they selected him in the second round with the 34th overall pick.

Building off his 18-catch, 354-yard and four-touchdown showing next year and beyond will involve Hunter becoming a bigger (heavier and stronger) player this offseason.




Click Here For Infographic:
Justin Hunter - By The Numbers

Hunter will try to do so without losing the leaping ability that helped him record his first two pro catches as touchdowns. He had the game-winning, 34-yarder against the Chargers in Week 3 and an acrobatic 15-yard TD catch against the New York Jets the following week.

Four of Hunter's catches gained 40 or more yards, with a long of 57 at Denver, and he led the Titans with a per-catch average of 19.7 yards that ranked 16th in the NFL and sixth among players that made at least 16 catches.

The franchise record for per-catch average has a minimum qualifying ratio of 32 receptions per 16 games, a record of 23.5 yards per catch set by Bill Groman in 1961 and tied by Chris Sanders in 1995 as the Houston Oilers.

Hunter missed that ratio in his 14 games played, but his average is the second-highest by any player with at least 10 catches during the Titans era (1999-present). Carl Pickens, who like Hunter attended the University of Tennessee, had the top number under those requirements of 24.2 yards per catch (242 yards on 10 catches) in 2000.

Here's a look at leading per catch averages of players with at least 10 catches in a season during the Titans era:

2013—Justin Hunter 19.7 (18 for 354)
2012—Nate Washington 16.2 (46 for 746)
2011—Craig Stevens 18.4 (9 for 166)
2010—Kenny Britt 18.5 (42 for 775)
2009—Kenny Britt 16.7 (42 for 701)
2008—Justin Gage 19.1 (34 for 651)
2007—Justin Gage 13.6 (55 for 750)
2006—Drew Bennett 16.0 (46 for 737)
2005—Roydell Williams 14.2 (21 for 299)
2004—Drew Bennett 15.6 (80 for 1,247)
2003—Justin McCareins 17.3 (47 for 813)
2002—Justin McCareins 15.8 (19 for 301)
2001—Derrick Mason 15.5 (73 for 1,128)
2000—Carl Pickens 24.2 (10 for 242)
1999—Isaac Byrd 18.6 (14 for 261)

Related Content