Collins to replace Favre at Pro Bowl

Kerry Collins becomes the seventh Titan named to the Pro Bowl, replacing Brett Favre (arm injury).

Collins completed 242-of-415 passes for 2,676 yards and 12 touchdowns, leading the Titans to a 13-3 record and the AFC's top seed in the playoffs.

Making his second Pro Bowl appearance, Collins joins a Titans list that includes DT Albert Haynesworth, C Kevin Mawae, CB Cortland Finnegan, RB Chris Johnson, OT Michael Roos and S Chris Hope.

Mawae (elbow injury) will not make the trip, while Johnson is questionable, still rehabbing a high ankle sprain suffered in the AFC divisional playoff game vs. Baltimore.

Haynesworth, Mawae and Finnegan were originally named as starters. Johnson, Roos and Hope are reserves.

The 2009 Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, Feb. 8 and televised by NBC.

Tennessee's seven players represent the team's most Pro Bowlers since 2000 when the franchise sent a record nine players to Honolulu. The seven Titans are tied with the New York Jets, who are also sending seven players to the Pro Bowl.

Haynesworth, Johnson and Mawae captured the fan voting, which counted one third towards the overall ballot. Voting from coaches and players made up the remainder of the ballot.

Haynesworth, Rob Bironas and Kyle Vanden Bosch represented Tennessee at last year's Pro Bowl. This year's group marks the eighth time since 1970 that the franchise has had six or more Pro Bowl players. Since moving the franchise to Tennessee in 1997, the Titans organization has been represented by 41 Pro Bowl selections.

Four other Titans were voted as Pro Bowl alternates, including LB Keith Bulluck, K Rob Bironas, FB Ahmard Hall, and S Michael Griffin. They could end up going to the Pro Bowl if a player in front of them at their respective position is injured or decides not to play.

Related Content