Titans Elect Five Captains for 2018 Season


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Titans have elected five captains for the 2018 season.

Quarterback Marcus Mariota and tight end Delanie Walker have been voted the team's offensive captains, while linebacker Wesley Woodyard and defensive lineman Jurrell Casey are the defensive captains. Linebacker Daren Bates is the special teams captain.

Coach Mike Vrabel made the announcement after practice, following a vote from players.

Mariota has been a captain in all four of his NFL seasons, and it's Walker's fourth consecutive year as a captain as well. Casey will be a captain his fifth straight season with the Titans, while Woodyard has been a captain every year of his NFL career, which dates back to 2008 with the Broncos.

Bates, who joined the Titans in 2017, will serve as a captain for the first time.

"They have to control the pulse of the team, and they have to help carry the message from the team meeting room after it leaves the unit room and when it heads to the locker room," Vrabel said of the captains. "That's their locker room. I'm hopeful that those guys, and others as well, will continue to carry that message on each day and each week as we go through the season.

"They represent the team as of now, and obviously anybody that has something to say can come say it."

The Tennessee Titans take the field for practice on Monday, Sept. 3, 2018 at Saint Thomas Sports Park. (Photos: Gary Glenn)

Related Content