Skip to main content

Franchise Players Named

NEW YORK -- Franchise player designations were announced today for the 2013 NFL free agency signing period, which begins at 4:00 p.m. ET on March 12.

A club can designate one "franchise" player or one "transition" player among its veteran free agents.    

The salary offer by a player's club determines whether the franchise player designation is exclusive or non-exclusive. 

An "exclusive" franchise player – not free to sign with another club – is offered the greater of (i) the average of the top five salaries at the player's position for the current year as of the end of the Restricted Free Agent Signing Period on April 19; or (ii) the amount of the Required Tender for a "non-exclusive" franchise player, as explained below.

Article 10, Section 2(a)(i) of the CBA sets forth the methodology, known as the "Cap Percentage Average," for calculating the Required Tender for such a player:

The Nonexclusive Franchise Tender shall be a one year NFL Player Contract for (A) the average of the five largest Prior Year Salaries for players at the position . . . at which the Franchise Player participated in the most plays during the prior League Year, which average shall be calculated by: (1) summing the amounts of the Franchise Tags for players at that position for the five preceding League Years; (2) dividing the resulting amount by the sum of the Salary Caps for the five preceding League Years . . . ; and (3) multiplying the resulting percentage by the Salary Cap for the upcoming League Year . . . (the "Cap Percentage Average") . . . ; or (B) 120% of his Prior Year Salary, whichever is greater . . . .

If a club extends a Required Tender to a non-exclusive franchise player pursuant to this section, the player shall be permitted to negotiate a player contract with any club, except that draft choice compensation of two first round draft selections shall be made in the event he signs with a new club.

The signing period for franchise players begins at 4:00 p.m. (ET) on March 12 and ends on the Tuesday following the 10th week of the season (November 12).

This year, no player was designated as an exclusive franchise player or as a transition player.  The following players were designated as non-exclusive franchise players.


S Jairus Byrd - Buffalo
DT Henry Melton - Chicago
DE Michael Johnson - Cincinnati
LB Anthony Spencer - Dallas
OT Ryan Clady - Denver
P Pat McAfee - Indianapolis
OT Branden Albert - KC
DT Randy Starks - Miami


Quarterback - $14,896,000
Running Back - $8,219,000
Wide Receiver - $10,537,000
Tight End - $6,066,000
Offensive Linemen - $9,828,000
Defensive End - $11,175,000
Defensive Tackle - $8,450,000
Linebacker - $9,619,000
Cornerback - $10,854,000
Safety - $6,916,000
Kicker/Punter - $2,977,000


Quarterback - $13,068,000
Running Back - $6,970,000
Wide Receiver - $8,867,000
Tight End - $5,194,000
Offensive Linemen - $8,709,000
Defensive End - $9,151,000
Defensive Tackle - $7,039,000
Linebacker - $8,358,000
Cornerback - $9,095,000
Safety - $6,002,000
Kicker/Punter - $2,700,000

Related Content

Fan Zone

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Stay up to date with team and stadium news, concert and event announcements, stream live Titans games and more!

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

A one-stop shop for Titans memorabilia, autographed items and more!

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Get Titans news sent straight to your inbox.