Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards Winners Named




Murfreesboro, TENN -** Tennessee's best high school football players for 2009 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

Approximately 700 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2009 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

Click here to watch video!

"Today's celebration recognizes more that the ability of these young men to play our great game of football," said Titans Owner K.S. "Bud" Adams, Jr. "The young men were here because of their outstanding character and academic achievements, traits which will pave their way through life, long after their football days has passed. I congratulate all of the Titans Mr. Football Award finalists for the outstanding manner in which they represent their school and community!"



High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2009 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. For the eighth time in the history of the award, the top kickers in the state were recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Titans Mr. Football Awards in 2007.


Division I, Class A Lineman
Josh Carroll, Adamsville

Division I, Class A BackTerrell Robinson, South Pittsburg

Division I, Class AA Lineman
James Stone, Maplewood

Division I, Class AA Back
Bo Wallace, Giles County

Division I, Class AAA Lineman
Jacques Smith, Ooltewah

Division I, Class AAA BackAnthony Hayes, White Station

Division II-A Lineman
Steven Stafford, ECS

Division II-A BackJake Overbey, USJ

Division II-AA Lineman
Jonathan Brown, Christian Brothers

Division II-AA Back
Barry Brunetti, MUS

Kicker of the YearNick Pollard, Father Ryan

Related Content