Titans to Wear Historic Uniforms During Four Legacy Games



The NFL announced today the 16 AFL Legacy Games that will be played during the 2009 NFL season.

This season marks the 50th season for the eight original American Football League teams. As part of the celebration, the eight original AFL teams will wear historic uniforms during Legacy Games.

Eleven Legacy Games will be match-ups between the eight original AFL teams. The other five Legacy Games include the Dallas Cowboys playing the "Dallas Texans" in Kansas City (October 11, 1:00 PM ET) and the Oakland Raiders visiting the Dallas Cowboys in the Raiders' first Thanksgiving game since 1970 (November 26, 4:15 PM ET). In addition, three of the Legacy Games feature the Miami Dolphins who joined the AFL in 1966.

To kick off the slate of Legacy Games, the Bills will take on the Tennessee Titans in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio on Sunday, August 9. The game will be televised nationally by NBC at 8:00 PM ET.

On Monday night, September 14, ESPN will host a Monday Night Football doubleheader that will be part of the NFL's celebration of the 50th anniversary season of the AFL. The four clubs competing that night began playing in the inaugural 1960 AFL season. The first game (7:00 PM ET) will send the Buffalo Bills to Foxboro to visit the New England Patriots, the decade's winningest team (102-42 since 2000). The MNF nightcap (10:15 PM ET) will be an AFC West battle as the Oakland Raiders host the three-time defending division champ San Diego Chargers.



The American Football League, which merged with the NFL in 1970, played its first season in 1960 with eight teams.  The original eight AFL teams were the BUFFALO BILLS, DENVER BRONCOS, KANSAS CITY CHIEFS (played as the Dallas Texans), NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS (played as the Boston Patriots), NEW YORK JETS (played as the Titans of New York), OAKLAND RAIDERS, SAN DIEGO CHARGERS, and TENNESSEE TITANS (played as the Houston Oilers). The MIAMI DOLPHINS became the ninth AFL franchise and played its first game in 1966. The CINCINNATI BENGALS followed as the tenth AFL team playing its first game during the 1968 season.

*(All times Eastern)

*Sunday, August 9
Pro Football Hall of Fame Game, Canton, OH:
Buffalo Bills vs. Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers)
NBC (8:00 PM)

Monday, September 14Buffalo BIlls at New England Patriots (Boston Patriots)
ESPN (7:00 PM)

San Diego Chargers at Oakland Raiders
ESPN (10:15 PM)

Sunday, September 27
Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) at New York  Jets (Titans of New York)
CBS (1:00 PM)

Sunday, October 11Dallas Cowboys at Kansas City  Chiefs (Dallas Texans)
FOX  (1:00 PM)

New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) at Denver  Broncos
CBS (4:15 PM)

Sunday, October 18Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) at New England (Boston Patriots)
CBS  (4:15 PM)

Monday, October 19Denver  Broncos at San Diego Chargers
ESPN (8:30 PM)

Sunday, October 25
San Diego  Chargers at Kansas City  Chiefs
CBS (1:00 PM)

New York  Jets (Titans of New York) at Oakland  Raiders
CBS (4:05 PM)

Sunday, November 1Miami  Dolphins at New York  Jets (Titans of New York)
CBS (1:00 PM)

Sunday, November 15Buffalo Bills at Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers)
CBS (1:00 PM)

Kansas City  Chiefs (Dallas Texans) at Oakland  Raiders
CBS (4:05 PM)

Thursday, November 26Oakland  Raiders at Dallas  Cowboys
CBS (4:15 PM)

Sunday, November 29Miami  Dolphins at Buffalo Bills
CBS (1:00 PM)

Sunday, December 6New England  Patriots (Boston Patriots) at Miami  Dolphins
NBC (8:20 PM)

The NFL and clubs are planning to celebrate the 50th AFL season with numerous events this year.

NFL NETWORK, NFL.COM and NFL FILMS will also commemorate the 50th season with unique content and programming highlighting the history of the AFL and the original eight teams.

A "legacy" collection, featuring new retro-themed apparel and products, will be introduced this summer and will be available on NFLSHOP.COM and at other retail locations. Among the merchandise offered will be jerseys, hats, t-shirts, sweatshirts, jackets and pennants.

Game-worn jerseys and signed memorabilia will be auctioned at NFL AUCTIONS throughout the season with the monies raised going to the NFL Player Care Foundation.

Below is a list of the historic uniforms to be worn by the eight original AFL teams during Legacy Games this season:


Buffalo  Bills1965 AFL Championship season: White helmet featuring a simple red buffalo.

Denver  Broncos
1960 season: Brown and yellow uniform; brown helmet.

Kansas City  Chiefs (Dallas Texans)(Played in Dallas 1960 - 62 before moving to Kansas City.)
1962 AFL Championship season: Red and white uniform; red helmet featuring an outline of the state of Texas.

New England  Patriots (Boston Patriots)
1963 divisional championship season: White helmet featuring the original Patriot logo.

New York  Jets (Titans of New York)1961 season: Gold and navy uniforms; navy helmet.

Oakland  Raiders
1963 season: White (away) jersey features silver numbers outlined in black; silver helmet with original Raiders logo.

San Diego  Chargers
1963 AFL Championship season: White pants with yellow bolt down legs.

Tennessee  Titans (Houston Oilers)
(Played in Houston 1960 - 96 before moving to Tennessee.)
1960 season: Blue and white jersey with red accents; blue helmet with derrick logo.



Related Content