Titans Safety Kevin Byard to Compete in 40 Yards of Gold Event


NASHVILLE – Titans safety Kevin Byard is among those scheduled to take part in 40 Yards of Gold – a new company bringing an official 40-yard dash tournament/all-star speed competition to Miami this summer.

Among the other players already on board: Alvin Kamara, Ted Ginn Jr., Corey Coleman, Robby Anderson, Mark Ingram, Rashard Robinson, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, and Trae Waynes.

According to 40 Yards of Gold, the "fastest professional football player" will be crowned.

40 Yards of Gold is a tournament-style competition scheduled for Saturday, June 29th. NFL athletes, including Byard, will race head-to-head in "a high-stakes, one-night extravaganza."

Per a release, the event "fuses sports, entertainment & technology to create a pandemonium experience unlike anything ever witnessed in competitive sports."

Quince Imaging will "incorporate cutting edge projection mapping onto the field to give the illusion that the participants are running on futuristic platforms. This state-of-the-art technology will debut for the very first time in a competitive atmosphere."

A bracket-style head-to-head competition of the 40-yard dash will culminate with the Champion of the Offensive Division facing the Champion of the Defensive Division. The Event will also include fan activations and live performances. Venue to be announced at a later date.

For the past two weeks, fans have been invited to vote via www.40yardsofgold.com for their top seed in the Offensive & Defensive Divisions.

The seeding will be determined by the number of fan votes in each respective division. Voting will conclude Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 12 AM EST. The announcement of Round 1 matchups will begin the afternoon of Sunday, May 26th and proceed through Wednesday, May 29th with one Offensive & Defensive matchup being introduced each day.

List of participants:


Ted Ginn Jr.

Jeff Badet

Corey Coleman

Tarik Cohen

Robby Anderson

Richie James

Damiere Byrd

Alvin Kamara

Mark Ingram

Kevin Snead

Christian Blake

Jacoby Ford

Mystery Participant


Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie

Trae Waynes

John Franklin III

Kevin Byard

Quinton Dunbar

Rashard Robinson

Terrell Sinkfield

Jerome Baker

Jalen Myrick

Budda Baker

Donte Jackson

Charles James II

Mystery Participant

Tickets will be available soon. For more information, news and updates, visit www.40YardsOfGold.com.

Related Content