Titans Owner Bud Adams, Eddie George, Steve McNair on HOF's Preliminary List


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Titans owner K.S. "Bud" Adams, Jr, former Titans running back Eddie George and the late Steve McNair are among the list of 126 modern-era candidates nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Adams, one of the original founders and driving force behind the start of the American Football League, has been on the Hall of Fame's preliminary list for several years, but has yet to advance through the process. Houston Chronicle columnist John McClain said it's time for Adams to have a spot inside the sacred walls of Canton.

"The one guy that I feel fully deserves to be in is Bud Adams," said McClain, who was on hand for former Oilers defensive tackle Curley Culp's induction last month in Canton. "A lot of people today don't realize Bud's contributions, but you cannot write the history of the National Football League without Bud."

George is the franchise's all-time leading rusher with 10,009 yards (64 rushing TDs), while McNair ranks second on the franchise's all-time passing yards list with 27,141 yards and 156 passing TDs.

Wide receiver Marvin Harrison, linebacker Derrick Brooks and coach Tony Dungy, are among the 16 first-year eligible candidates.

From the list of 126 nominees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees. The list of 25 semifinalist nominees will be announced in late November. That semifinalist list will be further reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists and announced in early January. 

The actual voting for the Class of 2014 will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee's annual meeting, which will be held in New York City on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014 the day before Super Bowl XLVIII. The election results will be announced at a live announcement show that evening.

The Class of 2014 will be selected from the list of the 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (former Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders punter Ray Guy and former Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey) who were selected last month by the Hall of Fame's Senior Selection Committee.

While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and seven new members will be selected. 

The 2014 list of modern-era nominees includes 89 players, 16 coaches and 21 contributors, including former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jr., Jack Kent Cooke, Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Jerry Jones, Robert Kraft, and Art Modell. 

While a nominated player or coach must have last played or coached at least five consecutive seasons before he can be considered, a contributor, who is an individual who has made outstanding career contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing or coaching, may still be active in his pro football career. More information on all the modern-era nominees can be found on the Hall of Fame's website at Profootballhof.com.


Quarterback – Trent Green

Running Backs – Shaun Alexander, Warrick Dunn

Wide Receiver – Marvin Harrison

Offensive Linemen – Willie Anderson (T), Walter Jones (T)

Linebackers – Derrick Brooks, Tedy Bruschi, Willie McGinest (also DE), Zach Thomas

Defensive Backs – Rodney Harrison (S), Sam Madison (CB), Patrick Surtain (CB)

Coaches – Tony Dungy, Jon Gruden, Mike Holmgren


Quarterbacks – Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Steve McNair, Phil Simms

Running Backs – Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Dave Meggett (also PR/KR), Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters

Wide Receivers – *Tim Brown (also KR), Gary Clark, Mark Clayton, Henry Ellard (also PR), Keyshawn Johnson, Keenan McCardell, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

Tight End – Mark Bavaro

Offensive Linemen – Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C),  Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), Don Mosebar (C), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), *Will Shields (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

Defensive Linemen – Jerome Brown (DT), *Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed "Too Tall" Jones (DE), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE),  Steve McMichael (DT/NT), Fred Smerlas (NT), *Michael Strahan (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)

Linebackers – Cornelius Bennett, *Kevin Greene (LB/DE), Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley

Defensive Backs – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Albert Lewis (CB), John Lynch (S), Troy Vincent (S), Everson Walls (CB), *Aeneas Williams (CB/S), Darren Woodson (S)

Kickers/Punter – Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

Special Teams/Position Player – Brian Mitchell (also RB), Steve Tasker (also WR)

Coaches – Bill Arnsparger, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Contributors – K. S. (Bud) Adams, Jr., Bobby Beathard, Gil Brandt, Leo Carlin, Red Cashion, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, *Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Ron Gibbs, Jerry Jones, Eddie Kotal, Robert Kraft, Elmer Layden, Art McNally, *Art Modell, Bill Polian, Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue, Jim Tunney, Ron Wolf, George Young                               

**On 2013 finalists list *

Related Content