Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Award Winners Announced


MURFREESBORO, Tenn. – Tennessee's best high school football players for 2013 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted Monday by the Tennessee Titans.

Over 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state attended the 2013 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.


"This is such an outstanding honor for all 33 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards," said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. "They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements."

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2013 regular season.

Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.

2013 TENNESSEE TITANS MR. FOOTBALL AWARD WINNERS Division I, Class A Lineman -Zach Stewart, Coalfield; Finalists: Tyler Bush, Huntingdon & Blake Zeman, Marion County

Division I, Class A Back - Jajuan Lankford, South Pittsburg; Finalists: Kyle Akin, Trinity Christian Academy & Chris Hale, Eagleville

Division I, Class AA Lineman - Paul Adams, CPA; Finalists: Akeem Cooperwood, Fulton & Braylon Young, Alcoa                            

Division I, Class AA Back - Daryl Rollins-Davis, Fulton; Finalists: Xavier Hawkins, Fulton & Ke'Shawn Vaughn, Pearl-Cohn

Division I, Class AAA Lineman - Jack Jones, Oakland; Finalists: Dylan Jackson, Maryville & Charles Mosley, Brighton

Division I, Class AAA Back - Josh Malone, Station Camp; Finalists: Denzel Harding, Siegel & Shawn Prevo, Maryville

Division II-A Lineman - Brant Mitchell, Webb School of Knoxville; Finalists: Joe Irby, Franklin Road Academy & Carter Parkey, Battle Ground Academy

Division II-A Back - Todd Kelly, Webb School of Knoxville; Finalists: Cole Heotis, Evangelical Christian & A.J. Long, Friendship Christian

Division II-AA Lineman - Derek Barnett, Brentwood Academy; Finalists: Alex Bars, Montgomery Bell Academy & Michael Sawyers, Ensworth

Division II-AA Back - D'Andre Ferby, Ensworth; Finalists: Devin Perry, Memphis University School; C.J. Sanders, Brentwood Academy Kicker of the Year - Rafael Gaglianone, Baylor; Finalists: Aaron Medley, Marshall County & Gary Wunderlich, Memphis University School

Related Content