Skip to main content

Mawae, Hutchinson, Brazile, Await HOF Vote Tonight


BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Former Titans offensive linemen Kevin Mawae and Steve Hutchinson are among the Modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

They'll learn their fate tonight, along with receiver Randy Moss, who spent the second half of the 2010 season with the team.

Long-time Houston Oilers outside linebacker Robert Brazile also finds out on "Selection Saturday" tonight if he's going to be elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Brazile is a finalist for the first time, and one of two senior nominees, along with Green Bay Packers guard Jerry Kramer.

The Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 will be announced on the nationally televised NFL Honors Show at 8 p.m. on NBC. NFL Honors will be taped earlier today from 5-7 p.m., when the 2018 Hall of Fame Class will be introduced for the first time. The NFL and the Associated Press will announce their annual accolades in this show with the winners on hand to accept their awards.

This year's offensive finalists include receivers Terrell Owens and Moss, running back Edgerrin James, receiver Isaac Bruce, tackles Tony Boselli and Joe Jacoby, guard Alan Faneca, along with Mawae and Hutchinson.

The defensive finalists include linebacker Ray Lewis, inside linebacker Brian Urlacher, cornerbacks Ty Law and Everson Walls, and safeties John Lynch and Brian Dawkins.

Brazile and fellow senior nominee Jerry Kramer, along with contributors' nominee Bobby Beathard and 15 modern-era finalists need to get 80 percent of the vote from the 48-member committee. Beathard, former Washington and San Diego general manager, was nominated by the contributors' committee.

Finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall's Selection Committee from a list of 108 nominees that was earlier reduced to 27 semifinalists, during the year-long selection process.

Mawae played 16 NFL seasons (1994-2009), including four seasons with the Titans (2006). He began his career with the Seahawks and also played with the Jets before retiring after the 2009 season in Tennessee.

Mawae was named to eight All-Pro teams, and eight Pro Bowls during his career while playing in 241 career games.

Mawae made the final 10 last year.

Hutchinson played in 169 games over 12 NFL seasons, from 2001-2012. Hutchinson was first-team All-Pro six times and a member of the NFL's All-Decade team for the 2000s. He played in 2012 with the Titans, and now works in the scouting department with the team.

Moss caught 982 passes for 15,292 yards and 156 touchdowns in 14 NFL seasons (1998-2012). He spent the second half of the 2010 season with the Titans, where he played in eight games after being claimed off waivers. He caught six passes for 80 yards that season.

Brazile, who played from 1975-1984 with the Oilers during the 'Luv Ya Blue' era under legendary coach Bum Phillips, held a team record with 147 games played. He was a five-time All-Pro, was selected to seven Pro Bowls, and he was named to the All-Decade team of the 1970s.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 will be formally enshrined next August in Canton.

A complete look at the 2018 Modern-Era Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

• Tony Boselli, Tackle – 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars

• Isaac Bruce, Wide Receiver – 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers

• Brian Dawkins, Safety – 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos

• Alan Faneca, Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

• Steve Hutchinson, Guard – 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

• Joe Jacoby, Tackle – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

• Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

• Ty Law, Cornerback – 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos

• Ray Lewis, Linebacker – 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens

• John Lynch, Free Safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

• Kevin Mawae, Center – 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans

• Randy Moss, Wide Receiver – 1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-2010 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers

• Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver – 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

• Brian Urlacher, Linebacker – 2000-2012 Chicago Bears

• Everson Walls, Cornerback – 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists join three other finalists to comprise 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

Two Senior Finalists were announced in August 2017 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.

Robert Brazile, Linebacker – 1975-1984 Houston Oilers

Jerry Kramer, Guard – 1958-1968 Green Bay Packers

One Contributor Finalist, also announced in August, was selected by the Hall of Fame's Contributor Committee that considers persons, other than players and coaches, who made outstanding contributions to professional football.

Bobby Beathard, General Manager/Personnel Administrator – 1966-67 Kansas City Chiefs, 1968-1971 Atlanta Falcons, 1972-77 Miami Dolphins, 1978-1988 Washington Redskins, 1990-99 San Diego Chargers

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent during the annual selection meeting.

Titans Online looks back at the Titans career of Hall of Fame center Kevin Mawae, who played in Tennessee from 2006-09. (Photos)

Related Content

Fan Zone

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Titans + Nissan Stadium App presented by Verizon

Stay up to date with team and stadium news, concert and event announcements, stream live Titans games and more!

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

Tennessee Titans Marketplace

A one-stop shop for Titans memorabilia, autographed items and more!

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Tennessee Titans Email Newsletter

Get Titans news sent straight to your inbox.