Skip to main content
25th Season

After relocating the Houston Oilers to Tennessee, founder Bud Adams began searching for a new team name. In 1998, Adams established an advisory committee of Tennesseans who were tasked with supporting the team to develop a new name for the state's first NFL franchise. The organization changed its name from the 'Tennessee Oilers' to the 'Tennessee Titans' beginning with the 1999 season. The Titans name harkens back to Greek mythology and honors Nashville's reputation as the 'Athens of the South.'

The team will recognize the milestone in a number of ways, including the addition of a commemorative helmet sticker that will be worn throughout the 2023 season. Fans can vote on their Top 10 Favorite Moments in Titans History at Voting will be open until Friday, Sept. 1. The top moments will be revealed beginning Monday, Sept. 4 through Sunday, Sept. 17.

The Titans will also be distributing rally towels featuring the 25th Season logo at the team's regular season home opener on Sept. 17. The towels will be distributed at gates around the stadium as guests enter.

Key Statistics

The Tennessee Titans are 211-193 in the regular season and playoffs, the 11th most in the NFL. 

Since 1999, the Titans have had 13 winning seasons, the 9th most in the NFL. 

The Titans have scored 999 touchdowns and have scored 8,779 points (including playoffs). 

The Titans have 3 appearances in AFC Championship games (1999, 2003, 2019), tied for the 6th most in the AFC during this time.

The Titans are the only team in the NFL with multiple players to have 2000 rushing yards in a single season (Chris Johnson in 2009, Derrick Henry in 2020). Only 6 other players have accomplished this in NFL history. 

DL Jevon Kearse still holds the NFL record for most sacks by a rookie (14.5 Sacks in 1999).

K Rob Bironas set the NFL record for most Field Goals in a game with a total of 8 FGs made. He made field goals from 52, 25, 21, 30, 28, 43, and 29 yards before kicking a game winning 29-yard field goal to beat the Texans, 38-36. 

RB Chris Johnson's 2009 season is the most yards from scrimmage by a single player in NFL history (2,006 rushing yards, and 503 receiving yards).

P Ryan Stonehouse in 2022 set the NFL record for most yards per punt in a season.

Most Passing Yards in a Season: Ryan Tannehill (2020) – 3,819 Passing Yards

Most Rushing Yards in a Season: Derrick Henry (2020) – 2,027 Rushing Yards

Most Receptions in a Season: Derrick Mason (2004) – 96 Receptions

Most Receiving Yards in a Season: Derrick Mason (2003) – 1,303 Receiving Yards

Most Touchdowns Scored in a Season: Derrick Henry (2019) – 18 Total Touchdowns

Most Total Tackles in a Season: Keith Bulluck (2002) – 180 Total Tackles

Most Sacks in a Season: Jevon Kearse (1999) – 14.5 Sacks

Most Interceptions in a Season: Kevin Byard (2017) – 8 Interceptions

Most Points Scored in a Season: Ryan Succop (2017) – 136 Points

NFL Awards & Honors: 

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year (1999) – Jevon Kearse

Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player (2003) – Steve McNair

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year (2006) – Vince Young

NFL Offensive Player of the Year (2009) – Chris Johnson

NFL Hall of Fame Inductee (2019) – Kevin Mawae

Associated Press Comeback Player of the Year (2019) – Ryan Tannehill

NFL Offensive Player of the Year (2020) – Derrick Henry

Associated Press Head Coach of the Year (2021) – Mike Vrabel